Book Review

FOOL’S ERRAND by Robin Hobb

Rating: 4.5 / 5

FOOL’S ERRAND by Robin Hobb is the first book in the Tawny Man trilogy by Robin Hobb, the third trilogy in her Realm of the Elderling series and the seventh book for the #elderlingalong readalong. I was a little nervous to pick this one up after loving the Liveship Traders trilogy so much more than the initial trilogy, but I needn’t have worried!

FOOL’S ERRAND picks up a number of years in the future after the initial trilogy (the Farseer trilogy) ends. This book returns us to the world of Fitz, the royal bastard who possesses the ability to bond with animals, to speak with them and merge with them. Fitz has been pretty isolated while the reader has been away from his story, living a quiet life with his wolf companion. This book brings back some familiar faces and story lines and introduces some new ones as well.

It is hard to say much about a book this far into a series, but this one really hurt the heart in places. Robin Hobb is not known for being kind to her characters and poor Fitz has been through a lot in his life. Watching the live show for this book was a bit like a cathartic group therapy session.

I fell very easily back into Fitz’s world and while this series doesn’t seem to be heading toward quite as much action as the liveship books, there are a lot of storylines to pursue and I look forward to seeing where the story takes us!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s