Book Review

STORM WARNING by David Bell

I received a gifted galley of STORM WARNING by David Bell for an honest review. Thank you to PRH Audio, Berkley Publishing Group, and Netgalley for the opportunity to read and review!

Rating: 3.5 / 5
Publication Date: 6/25/2024

STORM WARNING is set on one of the islands off the coast of Florida. Hurricaine Kylie is on approach and Jake is in a rush to get off the island and back to his family before it hits. When he finds one of his best friends dead, it derails his plans. With his family arriving on the island just ahead of the storm, Jake is now trying to protect his family, the residents of the apartment building, and himself both from the storm and from a killer.

I generally had a good time with this book. We had an interesting mix of characters living in this apartment building which is not in the best of shape, even before the storm hits. There is a bit of a one-by-one setup here as well when the island is cut off from the mainland.

I would say that I wanted more tension from the book with the storm and the killer on the loose. I did find it a good twisty read, but it didn’t keep me on the edge of my seat as I had hoped going in. I think with perhaps different expectations I might have enjoyed it a bit more!

With the storm named Kylie, I clearly had to include Kylee in the pic!

STORM WARNING is out today!

Leave a comment